5 Things We Learned, Salt Lake City 2: Champions Crowned

Dat Man, Cooper Webb

What else is there to say about Cooper Webb at this point? He entered the finale 22 points ahead of Ken Roczen and literally just needed to roll around and clinch a second title. Nope. That’s not what Cooper does. In typical fashion, he made another late charge, pushed Roczen wide and then went after Roczen’s teammate Chase Sexton and won the damn thing. Eight wins, five additional podiums, and another tile for Webb.

“It’s been a heck of a year with everything in the world going on, but we dug deep this year and stayed the course,” he said in a team statement. “It’s been an incredible journey, a hard-fought season with a lot of hard races but this is all worth it right here. Being a two-time champion is incredible and to get the win tonight is the cherry on top. I’m speechless, this is incredible.”

Lawrence Bros

When is the last time a pair of bros made the podium together? Slaw don’t know and I ain’t going searching. If you know, drop a comment below. The Australian bros had an amazing night at SLC2, with Jett passing Colt Nichols to take the win and Hunter making a last lap pass on Cameron McAdoo to take third. Word on the Slaw streets is that Hunter had a top-two only bonus from Honda, which explains why he was hunting down McAdoo like a damn kangaroo late in the race. And all this CAME after a crash early.

Star Dominates

Monster Energy/Star Racing Yamaha cliched both 250 titles on Saturday and there is no question, they are the dominate team in the 250 Class and have been for a few years. Colt Nichols and Justin Cooper both clinched on Saturday and I can’t remember the last time a team has won both coasts. I think it was 2012 when Justin Barcia and Eli Tomac won titles while with GEICO Honda, but don’t be quoting me on that.

Anyway, look at how many damn titles Star has won in Monster Energy Supercross and Lucas Oil Pro Motocross since 2014.

Titles in the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship:

2021 250SX West Region title (Justin Cooper)
2021 250SX East Region title (Colt Nichols)
2020 250SX West Region title (Dylan Ferrandis)
2019 250SX West Region title (Dylan Ferrandis)
2018 250SX West Region title (Aaron Plessinger)
2016 250SX West Region title (Cooper Webb)
2015 250SX West Region title (Cooper Webb)

Titles in the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship:

2020 250 Class title (Dylan Ferrandis)
2018 250 Class title (Aaron Plessinger)
2016 250 Class title (Cooper Webb)
2015 250 Class title (Jeremy Martin)
2014 250 Class title (Jeremy Martin)

Ferrandis, Hammaker Claim Rookie of the Year Honors

Dylan Ferrandis and Seth Hammaker wrapped up their rookie campaigns on Saturday night and claimed the AMA Rookie of the Year honors, which are presented to first-year riders who accumulate the most points in their respective classes. Following two 250SX titles, Ferrandis had a good rookie campaign in the 450 class, finishing seventh in points with one podium and four top five finishes. Hammaker was fantastic in his first year with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki claiming one win (Arlington 1) and two additional podiums en route to fourth in the 250SX West Region.

Mr. Fried and Barcia

Watching Jason Anderson and Justin Barcia go at it was amazing. That is all.

Main image: KTM Images

Written by Slaw Dog

Just a dog trying to find my special bun.

The Making of Red Bull Moto Spy | Part I

Cooper Webb, Colt Nichols and Justin Cooper Talk Titles