Pre-San Diego Supercross Report: We Talking Dirt, Stats, Injuries and More

Round 3 of Monster Energy AMA Supercross (yes round 3) is heading to San Diego this weekend at an all-new stadium: Snapdragon Stadium. Here are some things to keep an eye on this weekend.

Injury News

Austin Forkner: Tore his ACL and sustained other knee damage at the opener at Anaheim 1. He’s out for the remainder of Supercross.

Pierce Brown: Brown had a big crash at A1 but will race this weekend.

Marvin Musquin: According to Steve Matthes, Marv is out for this weekend and “maybe” more rounds due to a wrist injury sustained in a practice crash this week.

Different Dirt

Rain has been hammering California, which caused round 2 to be postponed. Well, PulpMX got the DIRT on the DIRT for San Diego this weekend.

Historical Notes on The Diego

History Lesson: The first 450SX Class race held in San Diego was on October 25, 1980 and is one of just two October Supercross races in the history of the sport (1984, Oakland). Mike Bell had clinched the title over a month before in Philadelphia and tacked on the seventh win of his title season in the San Diego finale.

Lordy Lordy SDSX is 40: The San Diego Supercross was held in Jack Murphy/Qualcomm Stadium 31 times from 1980-2014 and has since been demolished. From 2015-2022 the series moved to PETCO Park where there were eight races held. 2023 marks the 40th San Diego Supercross and brings in a new venue, Snapdragon Stadium.

Snapdragon Stadium: Brand new Snapdragon Stadium, home of the San Diego State Aztecs, was built near the site of former Supercross mainstay Jack Murphy/Qualcomm Stadium and opened in 2022. It will be the 63rd different venue to host a Supercross race and first new venue since Atlanta Motor Speedway in 2021.

Top 450SX Winners in San Diego

  • 1) Chad Reed: 6 (’03-’05, ’07-’08, ’11)
  • 2) Jeremy McGrath: 5 (’93-’96, ’98)
  • 3) James Stewart: 3 (’06, ’09, ’14)
  • 3) Rick Johnson: 3 (’86, ’87, ’89)

Top 25SX Winners in San Diego

  • 1) Justin Hill: 2 (’14, ’18)
  • 1) Cooper Webb: 2 (’15-’16)
  • 1) Eli Tomac: 2 (’11, ’13)
  • 1) James Stewart: 2 (’02-’03)
  • 1) Jeremy McGrath: 2 (’91-’92)

TV Guide/Streaming Guide

DateRaceTime Network
Sat, Jan 21Qualifying4:30 p.m. ETPeacockLive
Sat, Jan 21Night Show10:00 p.m. ETPeacockLive
Mon, Jan 23Nigh Show1:00 a.m. ETCNBCReplay

If you are an international viewer, you can find all information on how to watch here.

Animated Track Map

Main image: Kawasaki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Written by Slaw Dog

Just a dog trying to find my special bun.

Slawdictions for San Diego: Cooper and the Jett

Yamaha, Monster Energy Strengthen Global Partnership