Eli Tomac Passes Ryan Villopoto on All-Time Supercross Wins List

Monster Energy/Star Racing Yamaha’s Eli Tomac has torn through the Monster Energy AMA Supercross record books the last few weeks. Okay, torn is probably not the best word, but he’s been doing damage the last few weeks.

Let’s recap:

  • With his win in Arlington (round 8) he captured his 40th career win, becoming only the sixth rider in history to amass 40 wins in his premier class career. He joined Jeremy McGrath, James Stewart, Ricky Carmichael, Chad Reed and Ryan Villopoto on the list.
  • A week later in Daytona, he captured his sixth win at the iconic race, passing Ricky Carmichael on the all-time wins list at Daytona. He also joined Ryan Villopoto on the all-time wins list with is 41st career win.

Well, with another come-from-behind win Saturday in Detroit, Tomac moved past Ryan Villopoto for fifth on the all-time wins list. He trails Chad Reed by just two!

With Jason Anderson crashing out in Detroit, Tomac now holds a healthy 42 point lead in the championship with seven rounds remaining.

“It was a wild night of racing overall and a great result for us,” he said in a team press release. “I had a good start down the first straight away but then got bumped in turn one and was shuffled back. From there I had to go to work. I had a good line on the right side of the whoops, which is where I was making the majority of my passes. I just felt good, and the motorcycle was great for how technical the track was. Once I got to the lead, I just kept pushing. After the halfway point, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing – some of the best guys were down on the track, and it was a bummer to see. At that point, I just kept doing my thing and kept my focus, and that was it. It was a good night for the championship and another race win; we’ll keep pushing.”

All-Time Supercross Win List (Through 10 Rounds of 2022 Season)

RankRiderAll-Time WinsChampionships
1Jeremy McGrath727
2James Stewart502
3Ricky Carmichael485
4Chad Reed442
5*Eli Tomac421
6Ryan Villopoto414
7Ryan Dungey344
8Ricky Johnson282
9Bob Hannah273
10Jeff Ward202
10*Ken Roczen20
12Damon Bradshaw19
12*Cooper Webb192
14Kevin Windham18
15Jeff Stanton173
15Mark Barnett171
17Jean-Michel Bayle161
18Ezra Lusk12
19David Bailey111
19Mike Bell111
21Mike LaRocco10
21Broc Glover10
21*Jason Anderson 101
24*Marvin Musquin9
25Ron Lechien8
25Jimmy Ellis81
27David Vuillemin7
27Jeff Emig71
27Johnny O’Mara71
30Trey Canard5
30Davi Millsaps5
30Mike Kiedrowski5
30Kent Howerton5
30*Justin Barcia5
35Doug Henry4
35Donnie Hansen41
35Darrell Shultz4
35Jimmy Weinert41
39Larry Ward3
39Marty Smith3
41Marty Tripes2
41Tony DiStefano2
43Cole Seely1
43Josh Grant1
43Josh Hill1
43Nathan Ramsey1
43John Dowd1
43Sebastien Tortelli1
43Damon Huffman1
43Greg Albertyn1
43Mike Craig1
43Doug Dubach1
43Jeff Matiasevich1
43Rick Ryan1
43Rex Staten1
43Chuck Sun1
43Steve Wise1
43Gaylon Mosier1
43Jaroslav Falta1
43Jim Pomeroy1
43Pierre Karsmakers11
43Andrew Short1
43*Justin Brayton1
43Blake Baggett1
43Zach Osborne1
43*Chase Sexton1

Main image: Yamaha

Written by Slaw Dog

Just a dog trying to find my special bun.

Get a Sweet Race Tech Discount Just For Looking at Photos From Sunday at the JS7 Spring Championship

Open A Pro Sport Moto 2 Highlights from JS7 Freestone Spring Championship