Too Long; Didn’t Read: Recaps and Results from Thursday at Loretta Lynn’s

We know no one likes to read long race reports or sit around and watch live timing and scoring. So we are here to help with some quick recaps and results from Thursday, the third day of racing in the 2022 Monster Energy AMA Amatuer National Championship at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch.

Dennis Takes Control of Mini Sr. 1 (12-14)
This class is quickly becoming a showdown between Heath Fisher, Seth Dennis, and Caden Dudney. Dudney, who won the first moto, had to make some passes to get towards the front in moto two. He made the pass on Kelana Humphrey to snag the final podium spot. Kannon Hargrove maintained second, and Dennis made the pass on Fisher around the five lap mark to take the win. Fisher would drop back to seventh, which will put a big blow to his title chances. Deacon Denno, who finished fourth in the first moto, was sixth in moto 2.

Mini Sr. 1 (12-14) Top 5 – Moto 2
1. Seth Dennis
2. Kannon Hargrove
3. Caden Dudney
4. Kelana Humphrey
5. Max Shane

250 B
The usual suspects of the B class were all inside of the top ten in this one from the start. Evan Ferry took the holeshot and early lead with Daxton Bennick, Matti Jorgensen, Preston Boespflug, and Haiden Deegan. Julien Beaumer was up in the number four spot early until his bike started smoking heavily around a lap in. Jorgensen would crash early as well while running third. Beaumer, who was riding a chimney out there, took over the third spot. Deegan passed from tenth to fourth within two laps then started pressuring the smoke show of Beaumer. Danger Boy would have to make up six seconds to get to Bennick, who had made the pass on Ferry for the lead. Ferry started to make mistakes and Deegan started to push forward, tightening up the top three with two laps to go. Danger Boy made the pass on Ferry through the Ten Commandments, but Bennick was long gone for the win. Deegan did run a 1:53.6 on the last lap, though. Beaumer’s bike somehow made it through the moto!

250 B Top 5 – Moto 2
1. Daxton Bennick
2. Haiden Deegan
3. Evan Ferry
4. Julien Beaumer
5. Preston Boespflug

Martinez Takes 1-1 Into Final Moto

Heath Harrison got another holeshot, but was quickly overtaken by Mike Alessi. Cole Martinez ran in third, with Jake Baumert and Brandon Haas in fourth and a fifth. This race stayed steady until the final laps of the race when the top three tightened up with Alessi out front, Martinez in second, and Harrison in third. Martinez would get around Alessi with a lap to go and Baumert would do the same on Harrison for third. All four riders were in the same turn on the last lap creating a train. Martinez is taking a 1-1 into the final moto.

Junior 25 + Top 5 – Moto 2
1. Cole Martinez
2. Mike Alessi
3. Heath Harrison
4. Jacob Baumert
5. Brandon Haas

Phelps Mixes Up the Results in WMX
Kyleigh Stallings grabbed the holeshot and then threw it away all by herself out of the Bermuda Triangle turn before the finish. This allowed Tayler Allred on her all orange KTM to take the lead. Sophia Phelps would apply pressure to Allred early and make another lead change. First moto winner Viviana Contreras would have issues in this one and finished 6th. Hannah Hodges made a charge to fourth late in the race.

WMX Top 5 – Moto 2
1. Sophia Phelps
2. Tayler Allred
3. Korie Steede
4. Hannah Hodges
5. Jamie Astudillo

Palmer is Looking to Graduate College Class
Kayden Palmer took the lead from Kimble Jett early and Gage Stine hovered in third. These three riders were really the only factors in the podium spots. Stine would make the pass on Jett, which would make the third and final moto a winner take all between Palmer and Stine. 

College (18-24) Top 5 – Moto 2
1. Kayden Palmer
2. Gage Stine
3. Kimble Jett
4. Joshua Boaz
5. J. Ryder Fox

Fappani Continues to Impress in SuperMini 1 (12-15)
Jeremy Fappani took the holeshot in this race and never looked back. Leum Oehlhof would have to make passes on Jadyn Serles, Gavin Betts, Will Campbell, and Tiger Wood to get into second. Oehlhof is truly the standout rider of the week so far as no one had been talking about him prior to the Ranch. This is Fappani’s title to lose as he heads into moto 3 with a 1-1.

SuperMini 1 (12-15) Top 5 – Moto 2
1. Jeremy Fappani
2. Leum Oehlhof
3. Tiger Wood
4. Will Campbell
5. Gavin Betts

Written by Troy Dog

Faster than Slaw Dog. Editor-in-Chief

Silly Season News: Monster Energy Kawasaki and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki Confirm 2023 Roster

Epic Last Lap Battle: Towers vs DiFrancesco